Return to Headlines

Dance Awards

June 1, 2020


MSA Friends and Family,

            As we all know, 2020 has been an unprecedented time.  Perhaps nowhere was that more keenly felt than by our seniors.  Normally, we would have had our wonderful Senior Showcase and Awards, which Ms. Carty and Mrs. Stahl and I have done for years.  It’s an amazing opportunity to celebrate the academic and artistic achievements and accomplishments of our seniors as they grace our stage for the last time.  Sadly, we did not get the opportunity to do that; but it does not diminish their hard work, dedication, talent, and commitment—most of them are “MSA Originals!”

            Therefore, we would like to take this opportunity to honor those MSA dancers who have faithfully served the Dance Department for many years: whether as dancers, choreographers, teachers’ assistants; or members of our JV/Varsity Heat, Strikers, or Turning Pointe dance teams.  Many will be dancing in one show, then serving as an Ambassador during the next.  I know I speak for my entire department when I say that these names were not hard to come by; the only problem we had was to find enough categories to honor their multiple outstanding contributions!  Please join me in congratulating the following seniors for their Dance Dept. Awards:


Outstanding Service:  Darlens Corneille Ariana Fitzsgerald and Madison Egan


Outstanding Contributions:  Samantha Pover (Oliver Choreography)


Technical Excellence Award:  Aric Ruggerio and Siara Hernandez


Leadership Award:  Azaria Nunez and Sergio Fagulha


Citizenship Award:  Mikyla Blakely


Citizens of the Arts: Andrea Salazar (Visual/Theater) and Siara Hernandez (Choreography)


Versatility Award:  Nyah Fisher


Triple Threat Awards:  Ally Duffy and Emma Devine


Outstanding TA’s:  Christopher Marcelin, Tatiana Dauta, Nyah Fisher, and Hannah DeGenaro


Finally, in honor of our fallen teacher, Ken Ellis, we deem this our highest award/scholarship:


Christoper Marcelin and Sarah Affaine


Congratulations!  You make us proud, and we know you will make the world better!


Ms. Kelly, Ms. Carty, Mrs. Koepp, Ms. Castner, Mrs. Navarro, Mrs. Borton, Ms. Harris, Ms. Sandu, Ms. Franck, Ms. Turner, and Mr. Donadze